L.ove Livestock Welcomes You

Hi all,

I just wanted to give everyone an introductory post now that my blog has changed locations.

As most of you know my name is Hilary Risner, and if you didn’t know that now you do. I am originally from Oregon and California. My parents are in fact divorced and I was able to gain an exceptional amount of knowledge from both of them. I spent most of my younger years living in Oregon with my mom and visiting my dad on the weekends in California. My mom has always been highly passionate about horses. I most certainly gained my creativity and attention to detail from her. My dad raised cattle and put up hay in California. I have had the best of both worlds.

I started showing cattle in third grade, when my mom took me to the Josephine county fair, in Grants Pass, Oregon, to watch a friend show. From there my passion grew from a girl who led a slicked out heifer in the show ring, because that is what we did with horses, to a girl who loves the show cattle industry dearly.

One of my steers, Maximillian (he was Italian), for the fair.

One of my steers, Maximillian (he was Italian), for the fair. hehe

In 2009 I made the big move to South Dakota in order to attend college at SDSU. I am pursuing a degree in Ag. Communications. This will be my last year.

My friend Tiffany and I at our first SDSU football game! #gojacks

My friend Tiffany and I at our first SDSU football game! #gojacks

Everyone asks what I want to do once I graduate. I really hope to be able to start doing freelance work for different livestock publications, along with some travel and culture magazines. I would love to be a livestock events coordinator, but those dreams seem pretty far-fetched at this point.

I am a feisty red-head, who has a passion for good fashion and an undying desire to travel. I love the agricultural industry with all my heart and I hope that I can share that love through the words that I write with my readers. Turquoise is most certainly my favorite color. I’m currently in love with peacock feathers and their color scheme. I love great food and I’m willing to try anything once.

My family means the world to me. Which leads me to explain how I came about the name for my blog. As some know my mom’s name is Lisa and her last name is Ove. If you put her first initial “L” and her last name “Ove” together you get “L.ove.” Everything that I do is branded with that name “L.ove Livestock” so it should be easy to find me.

My mom and fiancé, John Bruner at his annual bull sale.

My mom and fiancé, John Bruner at his annual bull sale.

I have a border collie named, Wyatt. He was a payment from some people who I did some clipping on cattle for. The payment was far better than money itself; we have been attached ever since.

Wyatt and I, puppy love!

Wyatt and I, puppy love!

I can’t think of anything else that you would be dying to know at this point, but if you have any questions please feel free to ask.

Enjoy!

❤ LL

Leave a Reply

