Pineapple Upside-Down Cake and Fond Memories

Hey all,

On Sunday I had decided I wanted to make something yummy for everyone to enjoy, my mom suggested a pineapple upside-down cake because she had everything for it. It turned out great – they guys even approved – even though I wasn’t quite sure what dissolving brown sugar looked like.

Here are some pictures of the process, followed by the recipe that I used:

Getting the ingredients together.

Getting the ingredients together.

Placing the pineapples and cherries into the syrup.

Placing the pineapples and cherries into the syrup.

Mixing

Mixing

Bon Appetite!

Bon Appetite!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake – The Fannie Farmer Cookbook
14 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 cups dark-brown sugar
1/4 c + 2 Tbs pineapple juice
7 whole pineapple rings
7 whole maraschino cherries
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
1 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar

Preheat the over to 400 degrees F. Melt 6 tablespoons of the butter in an ovenproof skillet or an 8- or 9-inch cake pan. Stir in the brown sugar and continue to stir over low heat until it dissolves. Remove from the heat and add the pineapple juice. Arrange the pineapple rings and maraschino cherries in one layer in the pan; set aside. Melt the remaining 8 tablespoons butter in a small pan. Remove from the heat and stir in the milk and egg, beating well. Mix the flour, baking powder, salt and granulated sugar in a bowl, then add the milk-egg mixture and beat until smooth. Pour over the pineapple slices and bake for about 35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a plate, fruit side up. Serve with whipped cream, if you wish.

*My mom and I discussed we liked our cake to have more of the syrup, to make it moist, so some of the amounts of the ingredients have been changed from the original recipe.

As I was making the cake I got to giggling because there is a running joke in my family about me making a pineapple upside down cake with my grandma. I was very young, and of course I thought I knew how to do everything, and my grandma told me to drizzle the butter. Me being “Miss Sass” I just dumped the butter right out of the bowl. My grandma whips around after realizing what I had done and screeches “Hilary don’t you know what drizzling the butter means?”

I can honestly say that this was the first time my grandma had ever so much as raised her voice at me. At the time I was horrified and promised myself that I either would never do anything that required drizzling again or I needed to take a class on this strange technique. I never made another pineapple upside down cake until today and yes I was successful at drizzling the butter today.

I am sure my grandma thinks that she scarred me for life, which is the farthest from true. Reminiscing, I can say that some of my greatest moments were with my family in the kitchen. Whether it was just my mom and I rocking out to the Dixie Chicks, or when my mom and grandma – with my supervision of course – would make homemade raviolis. The kitchen is where I have my fondest memories, may it be learning how to drizzle the butter or me singing into a spoon with my mom on air guitar.

So you tell me, where is one place that holds the best memories for you?

Enjoy!

❤ LL

Leave a Reply

